We caught up with the action in what was the strangest hand of the tournament so far; Fox had bet 37,000, which was enough to put Clement Thumy all in - or so he thought. However, Thumy called and also thought he would be all in, when in reality he still would have had several thousand behind given Fox's raise.
Before they had realized this, both players turned their cards faceup. Fox held the and Thumy held . The dealer dealt the flop, which came and gave Thumy two pair. This is when Fox realized that his initial raise was not big enough to put Thumy all in. Fox brought it to his attention, but the dealer dealt the turn card - a , which would give Fox a winning straight.
Fox then informed the dealer what had happened and the floor was called over. The floor ruled that since Thumy only called Fox's bet, they would have to play from the flop onward and take back the turn, which meant Fox would lose his winning straight. The dealer then shuffled the back into the deck and play would begin with Fox starting from the flop.
Fox was incredulous, but had no choice but to check to Thumy, who bet about half of his remaining stack. Fox mucked and left the room - clearly upset about how the hand played out. The tournament director then declared both of them would receive a penalty, which meant neither player could play a hand for an entire orbit.
Despite all the drama, Thumy scooped the pot and is up to 85,000 while Fox is sitting on 375,000.